SpreadIt News | Digital Newspaper

THESE States Reduce VAT on Petrol, Diesel after Centre’s Excise Duty Cut | Full List Here

The Central government announced to decrease the excise duty on petrol and diesel by Rs 5 and Rs 10 respectively. Several state governments followed this and reduced VAT on petrol and diesel in just a day.

This news has come as a great relief to people.


The announcement to cut VAT on fuel prices first came from CM of Bihar Nitish Kumar


He tweeted that the state government of Bihar has decided to further reduce the petrol prices by Rs 3.90 per litre and Rs 3.20 per litre for diesel.

After this deduction, the state government that earned Rs 23 per litre on petrol will now get Rs 16 per litre.


The states that are run by BJP led-NDA decided to further reduce the prices by reducing the VAT percentage.

Here is a list of states that have reduced fuel prices further this festive season.

  • Odisha

CM Naveen Patnaik announced a reduction of VAT on petrol by Rs 3 that will come to effect from November 5.

  • Arunachal Pradesh

CM Pema Khandu announced that people will benefit by Rs 10.2 per litre for petrol and Rs. 15.22 for diesel.

  • Haryana

After reducing the VAT and the central government reduction, the fuel prices will be cheaper by Rs 12 per litre.

  • Karnataka

The state government of Karnataka have reduced the fuel prices by Rs 7 per litre.

  • Goa

The state government of Goa have reduced the fuel prices by Rs 7 per litre.

  • Uttarakhand

CM Pushkar Singh Dhami announced that the state will reduce VAT on petrol by Rs 2 per litre.

  • Madhya Pradesh

The state government of MP announced to reduce VAT on fuel prices by 4 %.

  • Chandigarh

The state government of Chandigarh reduced VAT by Rs 7 on petrol and diesel prices. The VAT percentage on petrol is reduced to 15.24 from 22.45 per cent and for diesel, it is reduced from 14.02 to 6.66 per cent.


For more breaking news, click here.