SpreadIt News | Digital Newspaper

Chrome may soon prompt you to confirm that you truly wish to dismiss all of your tabs.

With as much online browsing as we do on our phones, Chrome for Android has had a ‘Close all tabs’ menu option on the tabs page for a long now, but it appears that some users are unintentionally hitting that since Google has begun testing a new Close all tabs modal dialogue box.

When the option is activated in Chrome Canary 100 via the chrome:/flags page, selecting the ‘Close all tabs’ choice will display a new confirmation popup.

Advertisement

When the popup displays, you may either cancel (or use your device’s back button/gesture) to not shut the tabs, or confirm by pressing ‘Close all tabs.’ If you continue, all tabs will be closed and the browser will shut.

Because canary builds are unstable, you should wait until beta or the polished release. It is also unclear when Google would incorporate the flag into normal settings or activate it by default, assuming the functionality survives future updates.

Advertisement

In retrospect, it is a little strange that Chrome did not previously have this type of confirmation, and it was completely likely that someone mistakenly closed essential things when cleaning up.

If you wish to check out this capability, you will need to download Chrome Canary, as it has not yet made its way to the other release channels. It is also unclear whether Google will preserve this function and eventually make it available to everyone, so do not get too hooked just yet.

Advertisement

In related news, Google Chrome has included a new tab groups feature that allows you to colour-code and segregate your tabs into discrete, named groups. This improves organisation and readability, and users may also conceal tab groups they are not using right now.

Advertisement